Login |  Register |  help

Whitman Wins Section V Class C Championship!!!!

Posted Wednesday, November 09, 2005 by Brian Wickham
The following article was borrowed from the Leroy Football Web Site at www.leroyfootball.com

The NY State HS Football Championships started in the year 1993. Since that inaugural playoff season, no team has represented Section 5 in Class C state tourney play other than the LeRoy Oatkan Knights or the Cal-Mum Red Raiders. 24 sectional crowns have been earned in total by the Knights and Raiders. The stranglehold these 2 LCAA powers have had on Section 5 C football has finally been released by the Marcus Whitman Wildcats and coach Brian Wickham. The Cats earned the school's first ever sectional football championship with a well earned 25-14 win over the Knights at nearby Fauver Stadium on the University of Rochester campus.

Both teams gave it their all in the game, with Coach Wickham's son Chris proving to be the difference in the contest. Chris earned game MVP honors with great scrambling and passing (7 of 9 for 92 yards), and stellar defense - 5 tackles and a key interception which he returned for 53 yards. Jason Cauwels had a great day for the Wildcats too with 114 yards rushing and figuring in on 8 tackles. Jason Cota was none too shabby with a 6-reception performance. The Knights received fine play from a slew of players including Shaun Swanson (Game Off. Line MVP), Kevin Brady (Game Def. Line MVP), Justin Casper (99 yards rushing, 3 pass receptions, tough defense, and LeRoy Sportsmanship Award), Alex DiFrancisco (4 solo and 4 assisted tackles), Brady Bonacquisti (2 solo and 8 assisted tackles), and Craig Tiberio (INT and 3 receptions). JV players pulled up for sectional play, Travis Fenstermaker and Greg Elmore, were spectacular in fill-in roles for injured upperclassmen.

In all, it was a hard and cleanly fought championship tilt in which the Wildcats definitely earned the title and the right to continue their run toward a possible New York State C crown. The Knights had an excellent 2005 campaign earning a 9-1 record, the only unbeaten regular season record in the LCAA, big wins over rivals Batavia, Cal-Mum, Hornell, and Avon all on the road, and state recognition with a number 2 state ranking throughout the season. The team loses a good number of seniors, including senior all-stater Mike Farabella, but a fine core of returning varsity talent along with numerous talented players due up from the 8-0 JV squad should put the Knights back in the thick of things in 2006.

Congratulations to the Marcus Whitman Wildcats on their championship win and good luck.

This page was created in 0.1091 seconds on server 132